Wyong Musical Theatre Company Inc. is proud to present Sweet Charity


sweet

Charity Hope Valentine works at a seedy Times Square dime-a-dance joint. Charity is an incurable optimist with a golden heart who longs for love but never seems to look for it in the right places, until one day the fickle finger of fate intervenes and she falls in love with Oscar, from whom she must hide her chequered past and sordid dance hall job.

Leading the creative team is Director Margaret Holdom, Musical Director Maryellen Gillard and Choreographer Zachary Webster.

Margaret Holdom, Director – “I was surprised and honoured to receive a phone call from WMTC asking me to direct their production of Sweet Charity, and I took very little time considering my reply. I have seen this show many times, and have always been enchanted and intrigued by the enduring optimism of a woman who has very little support, who only wants to be loved, but who faces ongoing indifference from those she trusts. She asks “Where am I going?” and the answer is always nowhere!

To do a show set in the swinging sixties is a special bonus for me. This would have to be my favourite fashion era, and I was a young fashion conscious teenager in that decade. It was a time when the world was changing rapidly, and women were making themselves heard. Perhaps many of us could relate to Charity’s plight, and knew there was something better than this!

I have enjoyed the most wonderful opportunity to work with the extremely talented Maryellen and Zachary, along with all the other members of my Creative Team. The big question when putting on this show is will a triple threat actress turn up at auditions for the lead role? We were immediately put at ease when Monique Donath performed for us, and she is supported by an extremely talented cast.

WMTC has been my second home for the 17 years that I have lived on the Central Coast. Many wonderful friendships have been formed here, and I have had the opportunity to perform dream lead roles, put my creativity to work as a director and sing my heart out. You never stop learning from the theatre people around you, and I am constantly amazed at the talent, both young and older, we experience here at WMTC.  I am humbled and honoured to have recently been granted life membership of WMTC.”

Recently elected President of WMTC Kim Rowley said “My journey with WMTC started in 2005 as a parent wanting to give my son a chance to sing. Now I consider myself a part of the WMTC family, I am wanting to ensure our continued success in prroducing quality musical theatre productions in a family friendly environment for the Wyong and surrounding communities and this production of Sweet Charity has the best of everything.”

 

With hits including ‘Big Spender’, ‘Rhythm of Life’ and ‘If My Friends Could See Me Now’, join WMTC for Bob Fosse’s iconic Sweet Charity to see if our heroine can live ‘Hopefully Ever After”…

 

Sweet Charity

Book by Neil Simon

Music by Cy Coleman                     Lyrics by Dorothy Fields

Based on an original screenplay by Federico Fellini, Tullio Pinelli and Ennio Flaiano

Produced for the Broadway stage by: Fryer, Carr and Harris

Conceived, Staged and Choreographed by Bob Fosse

“Sweet Charity” is presented by permission of ORiGiN™ Theatrical

On behalf of Tams-Witmark Music Library, Inc.

Wyong Musical Theatre Company is thrilled to be back at The Art House after its successful first season with Oliver!  and Disney’s Beauty and the Beast last year.

 

Strictly Limited season Friday 5th May till Saturday 13th May 2017.

 

 

The Art House

Cnr Anzac Ave & Margaret St

Wyong

 

Tickets on sale now at www.thearthousewyong.com.au or by calling  4335 1485 or for more information visit http://www.wmtc.com.au

Information and image courtesy of WMTC publicity

About About the Central Coast

"About the Central Coast" is a FREE monthly ezine, supported by an online blog, that provides readers with a one-stop shop for information and reviews on all their favourite theatre groups, bands and artists on and around the Central Coast. Subscription to the magazine is free; just send an email with SUBSCRIBE in the subject line to about@y7mail.com The magazine is distributed by email on the first Thursday of each month. If you have an event you would like me to promote in the magazine, please send details at least three days prior. Items for the blog may be sent any time.
This entry was posted in Theatre & Dance, Upcoming Events and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

